Book Tour: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

11:03 PM




BOOK DESCRIPTION:

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.
www.jaclyndolamore.com | TWITTER |FACEBOOK

REVIEW

Rating: 3.5 stars



For a dystopian book, this one definitelly stands out. I had my reservations about this book at first but it had just the right amount of mystery and thrill that I found myself glossing over the pages of the book in anticipation of how the story unfolds. I wasn't quite sure where this story is set - on one hand it seems like an alternate reality of the past but on the other, it also has futuristic vibes to it. Overall, I found the world building to be extraordinary and unique as I couldn't seem to connect the setting to any other place I've been to. It was absolutely riveting and the magical and supernatural element to it was subtle yet placed carefully at the right parts of the story.

Dark Metropolis has a great gritty dark and creepy feel, and it did remind me of Metropolis, the film it is based on. I felt like for a Disney book this story is fit for older readers, as there are parts of it that are just downright disturbing and gorey. It didn't hold back at all, and I appreciated that the author is taking all the risks to write this story as honestly as possible. I loved the treatment of necromancy in this book, and I liked how it has lots of underlying themes regarding morality and ethics and body and life ownership. 

This book is good, but just not exceptional. The characters are likable, but they are not relatable and I couldn't seem to connect with any of them. I wanted to learn more about their back stories, and I felt like the story of the city is a bit lacking. We never understand about the war, the underground workers, or even the magic. The writing of the book is praise worthy as it has just the right tone and mood and is so vivid and visual, but the history element of the book really could've been explained better. I liked the alternating POVs, which is something I normally hate - but for this book I felt like it is just the right treatment to tell the story. 

Overall, the premise and story of this book possesses great potential and though the book isn't perfect at all, it was definitely a memorable read that has me pining for more. 

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Hi guys! Thank you for stopping by our blog. We really appreciate it if you've taken the time to leave a comment. Though it will take some time, we will do our best to reply to each one of you. :)

Popular Posts

Like us on Facebook

Stalk Us

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Kimi has read 3 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide